Hurricane Sandy.

 “Wait. What? Did I just sleep through my first hurricane?”

Yup, leave it to me to sleep through out the whole night during a hurricane. When I lived in Houston, hurricane Ike decided to take a toll on us. In my case, I slept through it. I remember that I was downstairs with my brother, sister-in-law, and my niece, Lily Kate. The safest setting for us to stay was in the downstairs closet. We had set up blankets and pillows to make the floor comfortable to sleep on. According to my sister-in-law, the hurricane was unbelievably loud and the scariest thing she has ever heard. Although we were out of power for a day, may not even be the full 24 hours, it was still miserable. However, we were one of the lucky ones. For others, it took weeks till their power came back on.

So for the people who are going to be affected with Sandy, please be careful and take all the caution that the news tells. It is better to be safe than sorry, believe me. I may have slept through my first, and hopefully only, hurricane, but the aftermath was not fun.

Until next time,

 Vanessa Flores

Leave a Reply

