Grief.

Today marks my father’s birthday. He would have been 62 years old. The big ol’ 62. It’s funny how special dates stick out like a sore thumb when the person is no long here to celebrate. I always remembered my dad’s birthday but ever since he passed in 2010, his birthday significantly means more to me than it did back then. I have noted that my grieving process is gradually getting better. However, on holidays and special days, like this one, it is hard.

“I guess by now I should know enough about loss to realize that you never really stop missing someone-you just learn to live around the huge gaping hole of their absence.” – Alyson Noel 

I will never stop missing him. I just have to learn how to deal with my heart missing a piece. Our hearts are really not ours. We give piece by piece to those we love. Time does help us mend our broken heart. But it is up to us if someone’s passing will make you stronger or make you weaker. I chose stronger. There is life after something tragic. I’ve learned that I am strong and yes, I do have a missing piece, but I can still live my life the way my dad and God attended me to.

Until next time,

 Vanessa Flores

Leave a Reply

