It’s been a long time coming.

I have put my blog on the back burner for awhile now. Believe me when I say, I did not forget about it. Over the past couple of months from starting this, I’ve realized I am not the type of “blogger” to just write every week. Honestly, I would feel like I would bore you all to death. I fear if I did that, it would come to the point where  I would write “Well on Tuesday, I ate a juicy apple and watched an entire season of “Downton Abbey“. (FYI, that show is absolutely brillant!) I write when I get inspired about a certain topic.

So what’s the topic for this blog post? Excellent question! Since it’s March, let’s talk about 3:16. I carefully decided that I would write about this certain topic because I don’t want to seem like I am creating a pattern every year. However, I know some of you are worried. So here it goes: My birthday is coming up, and for once, I am actually excited about it. I know some of you are still concerned about me when March 16th rolls around. And you know what? I am so humbly thankful for that. Honestly, God has put good hearted people in my life. There is probably a good handful of some that have no idea what I am talking about. So let me just give y’all a recap.

In mid February 2010, my father was admitted in the hospital. His health declined and on March 16th, I was forced to say my last goodbyes to him. March 16th, 1989, my father heard my first breath and on March 16th, 2010, I heard his last. Now, it has taken me a very long time to come where I am today. Let me be perfectly honest wit you. Yes, I am still sad. Yes, I get emotional at random times. Yes, some things that remind me of him triggers a sea of tears. Nobody can tell you when to grieve and when it’s time to stop. It never goes away. But with time, it gets easier. I find myself that I am not always thinking about it. It’s not that I don’t love him anymore, it’s just that I’ve come to the realization that I need to move on and live my life. After all, if my dad was here and saw me grieving every day, he would probably hit me on the side of the head and say “Hijita, quit your crying!” and would probably end it with a horrible joke and we would end up laughing. Him mainly laughing because he thought he was hysterical and me mostly laughing at him instead of laughing with him. His laugh was the best laugh I have ever heard!

For twenty-one years, I met the best man I could ever meet. I’ll always cherish the years I got to spend with him. Some might say it was tragic that he passed on a sensitive day. And last year, I would agree with you and say it is like a sick nightmare where I need to wake up. But now, I have another reason to celebrate. Let me elaborate before you judge that I’ve gone insane. I just have another great reason to be ever so thankful to celebrate my life. My dad and my Heavenly Father showed me that the time we have on this Earth is very precious. Thank the ever sweet Lord, he granted me another year of life. Not only can I celebrate my life, but my dad’s as well. He was very accomplished. I do realize that everybody’s definition of “accomplished” is different. But to me, well I couldn’t ever find a better example of an accomplished man, even if I wanted to.

That’s why I am done being sad on 3:16. Like I said, he would not want me to be sad every year. Birthday’s are special. They are meant to be celebrated and that’s what I am going to do. I am going to surround myself with the lovely, and ever so caring people in my life and be forever grateful that my dad, my hero, will always be apart of it.  My dad may not be here with me on Earth, but at a wonderful place called Heaven, he has everlasting life and continues to live on. (March 16th = 3:16) John 3:16

My lovely father celebrating his birthday.

 

One thought on “It’s been a long time coming.

  1. He would be so proud of the beautiful young woman you have become and will be. You are one of my friends that I loved to have the honor of meeting. Your smile can light up a room, and has made my day plenty of times while in class when i had hard times. Your father is looking down on you and sending you kisses from heaven. Love you Ar-kansas.

Leave a Reply

