Not your everyday cliché resolution

Is it too late to talk about resolutions?

Well, since it is the first week of January, I believe the topic of resolutions is still fresh. I have never really been the type of gal to make resolutions because I knew better. Now you might be thinking that this particular blog post will be dedicated to the cliché , dare I say it again, resolutions. However, you’ll find that you are partially right.

Today’s inspirational writing came from one of my favorite radio stations, Air1. The on air DJ was talking about his Pastor’s struggle to make resolutions. He felt that sitting there and focusing on a list of things he wants to do differently  was unbearable. So instead, he just focused on one. Yes, just one. Also, might I add that it wasn’t your cliché of “losing weight” or “becoming better organized”. Nope. Even for a spiritual leader, it wasn’t to “grow a deeper relationship with God”. His word he wanted to focus on more in his life was patience.

So, that’s what I am going to do. Not necessarily on patience, although I am quite sure some people would agree that I need to. But after some careful thought, I came up with a better suitable word for me. Present.  

Present (noun) /ˈprezəns/ –  The state or fact of existing, occurring, or being present in a place or thing.

After reflecting last year, I have noticed I was not present with a lot of family, friends, and even God. I consumed my life with work and school. There were times where I honestly did not realize that a day just passed. It was like my life was passing me by. Anytime I would hear someone say something like “School is the not the most important thing” my response was sarcastic. I would simply think  “Clearly they don’t care about their grades and is not pressured with keeping up a great GPA for their scholarship.”. Yes, I know I can be rude at times. Well 2012, consider me a present girl. I want to live in the present and not dwell with stress, as I did last year. Now, I still think that school and work is very important and I will strive for my very best. However, I am going to better balance my life. Prioritize, if you will. So you might ask what this really means. Well to me, I will clearly be there for the people that need me the most. I will attend more family events instead of locking myself in my room. I will be present and lose myself in God’s words and teachings. I cannot let life pass me by like it did last year. So with that said, I will be present.

“You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment. Fools stand on their island opportunities and look toward another land. There is no other land, there is no other life but this.” – Henry David Thoreau 

So I ask you this, what’s your word you’ll focus on for the new year?

Until next time lovelies.

One thought on “Not your everyday cliché resolution

  1. Wow. Ness, you are such a talented writer!! I love reading your posts :o) I look forward to seeing more of you this year ;o) You have reallly got me thinking about what my one and only resolution shall be. Thanks for the inspiration. I am so grateful God placed you in my life!! :o)

Leave a Reply

